## **Mammoth Marathon 2004**

Forecast called for SW 10 knots, but it dropped to much less during the race (almost nothing after 2pm) 73 racers started; 100 were fed lunch; a beautiful day.

There were three courses: Long (around the island), Short (around the harbour), and Learners (around All started about 11:15 am; and times below show when they returned.

## Awards:

David Hayes	First Around the Island
Paul Carr	Second Around the Island
Dincer Kocalar	Third Around the Island
Stephanie Todd	First Woman Around the Island
David Hayes	First Youth
Dincer Kocalar	First Master
Don Graves	Endurance Award
Masao Abe	First Harbour - Doug Marchant Award
Jerry Caplan	Second Harbour
Julie Postil	First Woman Harbour Course
Julia Figueiredo	First Learning to Windsurf
Sayas Alic	Second Learning to Windsurf
Madeline Embree	Third Learning to Windsurf
Eric O'Brien	Youngest participant (age 10)

Around the Island	Time
David Hayes	1:11
Paul Carr	1:30
Dincer Kocalar	1:32
Paul Matthews	1:34
Rick Collins	1:39
Keith Whiston	1:44
Nick Cox	1:45
Paul Pirrie	1:46
Brian Miller	1:48
Bob Shuttleworth	1:53
Igor Renkas	1:54 Tandem
Bruce Johnston	1:54 Tandem
Nick Ledonne	2:03
David Luck	2:05
Mike Keltz	2:08
Stephanie Todd	2:14
Dave Garnett	2:15
Ivan Dimic	2:17

Alan Backlund	2:20
Marc Zegers	2:21
Jon Matthews	2:23
Ken Nelson	2:35
Chris Hope	2:47
Dan Les	3:05
Bill Quantock	3:17
Don Graves	3:20

Jim Pollock Towed from last section of Eastern Gap

## **Short Harbour Course**

Masao Abe	12:10
Jerry Caplan	12:11
John Darling	12:15
Duke Duyck	12:20
Barry Holtzkener	12:22
John Dackenzie	12:22
David Mackie	12:25
Julie Postil	12:34
Philip Kimljenovic	12:35
Ken Takahashi	12:36
Russell Vinegar	12:38
Allan Tassie	12:40
Andrew Marston	12:40
Brian Phillips	12:41
Mike Chupricove	12:41
Giam Lam	12:42
Graham Earle	12:44
Igor Balabanov	12:45
Jim Marston	12:45
Alex Zanegin	12:53
George Eastman	12:55

## **Learn to Windsurf Course**

Julia Figueiredo	12:24
Sayas Alic	12:28
Madeline Embree	12:34
Ayse Yuksel	12:50
Eric O'Brien	12:51
Jim Lindsay	1:00
Kyle McDade	1:00
Nick Zubeck	1:05

Kat McDade	1:12
Ray Nalchiger	1:15
Marybeth Parent	1:16
Mike Komljenovic	1:20
Lindsay Dileo	1:24
Rafael Afonso	1:24
Thomas Gregory	1:26
John Black	1:40
Hany Ibrahim	2:12

)

the mark).